Uncategorized

It’s Okay To Teach Your Daughter She’s Beautiful

We all want to be told we are beautiful. We all want to feel beautiful. And we all hope our offspring are beautiful. 

Or at least I know I do!

I spent years wishing I was beautiful, praying each night that God would make me wake up beautiful…

I worried so much about my outer appearance that I refused to leave the house if I didn’t have my ‘mask’ (make-up) and hair done! 

Satan skews many things for us, and over time we become so adjusted and accustomed to new beliefs and standards, we don’t even fight against them anymore. They become our norms. And one thing in particular, is the definition of beauty. 

Being beautiful is not a bad thing. And it took until today, while sweeping my kitchen floor, until it finally dawned on me. (I have this theory, that if I do more cleaning, I might end up with more revelations…but I guess it will never be proved). 

From the moment my daughter was born, not only did I see the extreme beauty that was displayed in her features, but others saw it too. Nearly every outing we have had since, she has been gifted the compliment of her beauty by everyone she comes in contact with. And I can’t help but tell her she is beautiful nearly daily…because she is! 

Today, she was complimented again, and it was my response that got me thinking…”She is beautiful! And she knows it for sure! Noah and I will have to make sure to keep her head small on that as she gets older.”

And I started to ask myself, ‘why? Why is it bad that she knows she’s beautiful?’

It’s not. 

At least not if she knows what beauty is! 

It’s not my job to keep her head small about herself. It’s my job to teach her and inform her of the real definition of beauty. Not by the world’s standard and definition, but by what the Bible tells us about beauty. 

  • Proverbs 31:30- Charm is deceptive, and beauty is fleeting; but a woman who fears the LORD is to be praised.
  • 1 Peter 3:3-4- Your beauty should not come from outward adornment, such as braided hair and the wearing of gold jewelry and fine clothes. Instead, it should be that of your inner self, the unfading beauty of a gentle and quiet spirit, which is of great worth in God’s sight.
  • 1 Timothy 4:8 – Physical exercise has some value, but spiritual exercise is much more important, for it promises a reward in both this life and the next.
  • 1 Samuel 6:7 – But the LORD said to Samuel, “Do not consider his appearance or his height, for I have rejected him. The LORD does not look at the things man looks at. Man looks at the outward appearance, but the LORD looks at the heart.”

All in all, not only for ourselves should we learn this lesson, but it be taught to our children! You can’t deny it’s truth! Have you ever met someone with worldly standard, beautiful features, and as soon as they open their mouth and reveal their heart, they’re no longer an attractive person? That’s because they’re lacking real true beauty. 

The thing I like most about true beauty is that you aren’t stuck with what you have! You can improve your true beauty, and it won’t cost millions in plastic surgery…just dedicated time, devoted to growing your heart to be gentle and humble, because that’s truly beautiful! 

So yes, I find my daughter extremely beautiful…in every aspect, but most importantly, in true beauty. I will teach her that she is beautiful because she is kind, sweet, giving, nurturing, gentle, humble, and above all else, because her heart explicitly replicates the beauty of Christ. 

Leave a Reply

